• Aileen Lopez <aileen.lopez@emuhsd.org>,
    Gary Montelongo <gary.montelongo@emuhsd.org>,
    Jessica LaRosa <jessica.larosa@emuhsd.org>,
    Jim Truong <jim.truong@emuhsd.org>,
    Julio Silva <julio.silva@emuhsd.org>,
    Melody Martinez <melody.martinez@emuhsd.org>,
    Miguel Lazo <miguel.lazo@emuhsd.org>,
    Oanh Dang <oanh.dang@emuhsd.org>,
    Rebecca Covarrubias <rebecca.covarrubias@emuhsd.org>,
    Sonia Lamas <sonia.lamas@emuhsd.org>,
    Yanira Sierra <yanira.sierra@emuhsd.org>,
    Lily Ho <lily.ho@emuhsd.org>

    INTEGRATED MATH I (P) /SHELTERED Prerequisite(s): None (Sheltered offered at EMHS) This UC approved college preparatory course follows an approach typically seen internationally (integrated) that consists of a sequence of three courses, each of which includes number, algebra, geometry, probability and statistics. The fundamental purpose of Integrated Math I is to formalize and extend the mathematics that students learn in the middle schools. The critical areas, organized into units, deepen and extend understanding of linear relationships in part by contrasting them with exponential phenomena, and in part by applying linear models to data that exhibit a linear trend. Integrated Math I uses properties and theorems involving congruent figures to deepen and extend understanding of geometric knowledge from prior grades. The final unit in the course ties together the algebraic and geometric ideas studied. The Mathematical Practice Standards apply throughout each course and together with the content standards, prescribe that students experience mathematics as a coherent, useful and logical subject that make use of their ability to make sense of problem situations.

     INTEGRATED MATH II (P) / SHELTERED Prerequisite(s): C or better in Integrated Math 1 or C or better in Algebra 1 and Bridge 2 course. (Sheltered offered at EMHS). Integrated Math 2 focuses on six primary critical areas: · Extending the Number System · Quadratic Functions and Modeling · Expressions and Equations · Applications of Probability · Similarity, Right Triangles, Trigonometry, and Proof · Circles with and without Coordinates · Absolute Values This course is designed to meet the Common Core State Standards for high schools following the Integrated Math Pathway. Standards for the 8 mathematical practices are also addressed throughout the course.

     

     

     INTEGRATED MATH III (P) Prerequisite(s): C or better in Integrated Math 2 or equivalent. Integrated Math 3 students integrate and apply the mathematics they have learned from their earlier courses. This course includes standards from the conceptual categories of Number and Quantity, Algebra, Functions, Geometry, and Statistics and Probability. Instructional time should focus on four critical areas: · Apply methods from probability and statistics to draw inferences and conclusions from data · Expand understanding of functions to include polynomial, rational, and radical functions · Expand right triangle trigonometry to include general triangles · Consolidate functions and geometry to create models and solve contextual problems This course is designed to meet the Common Core State Standards for high schools following the Integrated Math Pathway. Standards for the 8 mathematical practices are also addressed throughout the course.

     PRECALCULUS HONORS (P) Prerequisite(s): “A” average in Algebra 2/ Integrated Math III (P), teacher’s recommendation, and/or placement test. This two-semester course is to be taken following the completion of Algebra 2 / Integrated Math III. The course deals with trigonometric function of angles, solution of triangles, inverse functions, complex numbers, and hyperbolic functions. In addition, an

     PRECALCULUS/TRIGONOMETRY (P) Prerequisite(s): “C” average in Algebra 2/ Integrated Math III (P), teacher’s recommendation, and/or placement test. This two-semester course is to be taken following the completion of Algebra 2 / Integrated Math III. The course deals with trigonometric function of angles, solution of triangles, inverse functions, complex numbers, and hyperbolic functions.

     STATISTICS AP (P) Prerequisite(s): Integrated Math III with teachers’ recommendation/ or Precalculus or Algebra 3 (P). This course comprises four central topics: exploration of data, the planning of a study, probability as it relates to the distribution of data, and inferential reasoning. These tasks will be accomplished first by traditional methods, and then by using current technology. Technology that will be integrated into the curriculum includes graphing calculator, computers with statistic software, and the World Wide Web.

     CALCULUS (P)/CALCULUS AB AP (P)/CALCULUS BC AP (P) Prerequisite(s): Successful completion of Pre-Calculus or teacher recommendation. For Calculus BC AP (P) successful completion of Calculus AB AP (P). The topics this course covers will include limits, continuity, derivatives and integrals of polynomials, trigonometric and log exponential functions, curve sketching, infinite series, and applications. Students will prepare for the Advanced Placement Test.